SKYLINE CONFERENCE

440

1938	Everett Chesney, Colorado	49.9	Wiles Hallock, Denver	Richard Boorman, Colorado	Cornell Peters, BYU	Nichols, Utah
1939	Mavin Parker, Colorado St	49.6	Wiles Hallock, Denver	Cornell Peters, BYU	Oscar Jacobson, Colorado	Ward Spendlove, Utah
1940	Oscar Jacobson, Colorado	50.1	Dale Nelson, Utah St	Lee Brooks, BYU	Russ Nielson, BYU	Ben Bennion, Colorado
1941	Oscar Jacobson, Colorado	50.5	Sherrell Overson, Utah	Bob Kukuk, Colorado St	Stewart, Utah	Lamont Wilcox, BYU
1942	Sherrell Overson, Utah	49.9	Mel Atkinson, Utah	Bill Havens, Denver	Marvin Foiles, Colorado St	Nick Bakarich, Colorado
1943	NO MEET					
1944	NO MEET					
1945	NO MEET					
1946	Charles Temple, Colorado	49.8	John Dixon, Utah	Vic Hotz, Utah	Lawson, Colorado St	Ball, Colorado
1947	Dave Bolen, Colorado	47.4	Jack Christiansen, Colorado St	Garth Paxman, Utah	Reed Howes, Utah St	Ralph Phillips, Wyoming
1948	Jack Christiansen, Colorado St	48.5	Reed Howes, Utah St	Merle Prince, Utah St	Ralph Phillips, Wyoming	Winder, Colorado St
1949	Jack Christiansen, Colorado St	48.9	Tom Benich, Denver	Merle Prince, Utah St	Vico Henriques, Utah	Don Homer, BYU
1950	Jack Christiansen, Colorado St	48.8	Tom Benich, Denver	Bill Wolfersheim, Utah	Lee Bartlett, BYU	Vico Henriques, Utah
1951	Ernie Wesswick, Colorado St	49.8	Bill Wolfersheim, Utah		Chuck Garrity, Denver	Lee Bartlett, BYU
			Leon Connor, Montana			
1952	Ken Davies, Colorado St	48.7	Leon Conner, Montana	Leron Johnson, Utah St	Glen Wyatt, Wyoming	Bill Wolfersheim, Utah
1953	Gerald Tovey, Utah	49.1	Marv Reynolds, Montana	Ken Davies, Colorado St	Leon Connor, Montana	Leonard Gregory, Colorado St
1954	Paul Carlin, Wyoming	49.1	BobDorsey, Colorado St	Ray Brown, BYU	John Hartman, Colorado St	Ritch Johnson, Montana
1955	Cordell Brown, Utah St	49.0	Doug Anderson, Utah St	Jim Crittenden, BYU	Guy DeHart, BYU	Don Page, Colorado St
1956	John Watts, Wyoming	49.0	Jim Crittenden, BYU	Arlyn Finlinson, BYU	Campbell, Utah	Dale Shupe, Montana
1957	Arlyn Finlinson, BYU	47.6	Jim Crittenden, BYU	Hal Farmer, Wyoming	Ray Mervin, Montana	Mike Granbois, Montana
1958	Hal Farmer, Wyoming	48.7	Mike Granbois, Montana	Oscar Anderson, BYU	Craig DeSilva, Montana	Jerome Page, Colorado St
1959	Dick Howard, New Mexico	48.2	Jon Johnson, Utah	Mike Granbois, Montana	Dale Long, BYU	Roland Anderson, BYU
1960	Adolph Plummer, New Mexico	47.4	Guy DeHart, BYU	Jon Johnson, Utah	Del Hessel, Colorado St	Bill Walton, BYU
1961	Adolph Plummer, New Mexico	47.1	Guy DeHart, BYU	Jim Grasky, Montana	Craig DeSilva, Montana	Mike Soulier, Utah
			47.3	47.8	48.1	
1962	Adolph Plummer, New Mexico	46.2	Bob Tobler, BYU	Tim Barnes, New Mexico	Bob Hunter, Utah	Guy DeHart, BYU



Colorado State's Jack Christiansen won 440 in 1948, 1949, and 1950. He lost to future Olympian Dave Bolen as a freshman. After college, Christiansen had a Pro Football Hall of Fame career with Detroit Lions.



Adolph Plummer won in 1960, 1961 and 1962. He added a fourth conference title when New Mexico moved to WAC in 1963. In 1963 he set a world record with a 44.9 timing.