Panthers win loop

MACOMB, Ill. (AP) — Jeff Burris ran a one minute, 50.16 second 800 meters to set a conference record as Northern Iowa captured the team title Saturday at the AMCU-8 track meet.

UNI collected 224 points, followed by Eastern Illinois, 165; Western Illinois, 147; Southwest Missouri 70; Illinois-Chicago, 22; and Cleveland State, 19.

The win marked the fourth conference outdoor title for the Panthers in the last five years.

Burris' record beat the record set in 1983 by UNI's Kirk Anderson at 1;50.84.

Derek Huff of Western Illinois won the decathalon on Thursday and was voted the Athlete of the Year, while top coach honors went to Chris Bucknam of UNI.

DECATHALONM - 1. Derek Huff (W. 111), 2. Troy Becker (UNI), 3. John Plasce (UNI), 5. Mike McGrath (UNI); 7,091.

LONG JUMP -1. DuBois McDavis (W. III), 2. Nate Blanks (W. III), 3. Wayne Simon (UNI), 6. Mark Zuber (UNI); 24-81/2. (Conference record). SHOT - 1. Dan Matas (E. III), 2. Roland Bröwn (W. III), 3. Larry Thoennissen (E. III), 5. Kelly Tagtow (UNI); 54-614.

3,000 STEEPLECHASE - 1. Steve Gearhart (UNI), 2. John Wells (E. III), 3. John Ruth (UNI); 9:25.11.

10,000 - 1. Todd Goodell (UNI), 2. Dave Swanson (UNI), 3. Matt Linden (Cleve St.), 6. Bob Jirele (UNI); 31:17.9

TRIPLE JUMP - 1. McDavis (W. III), 2. Kelly Swift (E. III), 3. Curt Brand (SWMS) 4. Simon (UNI); 50-8 (Conference record).

JAVELIN - 1. Larry Priebe (E. III), 2. Scott Sloan (UNI), 3. Tony Sala (W. III), 4. Mike Raffensperger (UNI); 1943.

HAMMER THROW - 1. Thoennissen (E. III), 2. Brown (W. III), 3. Jay Flatt (E. III); 175-4.

DISCUS - 1. Bob Mazanke (E. III), 2. Taglow (UNI), 3. Matas (E. III); 165-0.

POLE VAULT - 1. Becker (UN1), 2. Steve Jasinski (SWMS) 3. Lonnie Vickery (E. 111), 5. Mike Heidecke (UN1); 15-6.

HIGH JUMP - 1. Brand (SWMS), 2. Dave Cleveland (UNI), 3. Shannon Tucker (SWMS), 4. Steve Weaver (UNI), 5. Brent Wright (UNI); 7-0. (Conference record).

4 X 100 - 1. Northern Iowa (Eric White, Brooks, Glasknapp, Brad Bartelt, Doug Case), 2. Eastern Illinois, 3 Illinois-Chicago; 41.82.

1,500 - 1. Jim Maton (E. III), 2. Gerhart (UNI), 3. Mark Parsons (W. III); 3:57.24.

110 HIGH HURDLES - 1. White (UNI), 2. Brian Falls (SWMS), 3. Shawn Sherman (III-Chi); 15.35.

400 - 1. Glasknapp (UN1), 2. Mark Snyder (SWMS), 3. Ulysses Dantzler (W. III); 47.40 (UNI record, old record 47.55 by Glasknapp, 1985).

100 - 1. Ian Isaacs (E. III), 2. Case (UNI), 3. Chris Chatman (W. III); 10.76.

800 - 1. Jeff Burris (UNI), 2. Maton (E. III), 3. Fred Neal (E. III), 1:50.16 (Conference record)

400 INTERMEDIATE HURDLES - 1. Light (UNI), 2. Blake Wilkenson (UNI), 3. Joel Hartman (UNI); 53.71.

200 - 1. Isaacs (E. III), 2. Mike Stevenson (W. III), 3. Snyder (SWMS), 4. Case (UNI); 21.75.

5,000 - 1. Swanson (UNI), 2. Goodell (UNI), 3. Jim Lane (W. III), 5. Dan Hostager (UNI); 14:54.20.

4 X 400 - 1. Northern Iowa (Buriss, Bartelt, White, Glasknapp), 2. Western Illinois, 3. Eastern Illinois; 3:13.72.