Eastern ends UNI's AMCU track reign

HOW THEY FINISHE	D
Eastern Illinois	
Northern Iowa	
Western Illinois	
W Missouri State	
Cleveland State	

CHARLESTON, Ill. — Host Eastern Illinois won six events and ended Northern Iowa's three-year hold on the AMCU-8 men's indoor track championship here Saturday afternoon.

The Blue Panthers totaled 91 points to 75 for the Purple Panthers of UNI.

Ten conference records were shattered along the way Saturday, including two by Northern Iowa.

Panther Jeff Burris set a new record in the 880 with a time of 1:52.02 and the UNI mile relay team of Brad Bartelt, Jim Turner, Burris and Brooks Glasnapp ran a 3:16.12 for another new standard.

UNI also finished 1-2-3 in the twomile with Dan Hostager hitting the finish line ahead of teammates Tom Penningroth and Trent Timson.

Eastern's Jim Maton was named athlete of the year.

35-POUND WEIGHT THROW — 1, Marion Matas (W.III) 58-51/2, (new conference record); 2. Nick Cirino (Clev. St.) 52-31/2; 3. Dan Matas (E.III) 50-11/2; 4. Kelly Tagtow (N.Iowa) 50-11/4; 5. Jeff Rolson (E.III) 47-8.

TWO-MILE RELAY — 1. Eastern Illinois (Don Johnson, Phil Maton, Al Oaks, Jim Maton) 7:35.46 (new conference record); 2. Northern lowa 7:37.66; 3. SW Missouri St. 7:41.91: 4. Western Illinois 8:01.55

POLE VAULT — 1. Lonny Vickery (E. IJI) 15-74; 2. Steve Jasinski (SW Missouri) 15-74; 3. Bob Holzer (E. III) 15-1½; 4. John Place (N.Iowa) 14-7½; 5. John Bunge (N.Iowa) 14-84.

TWO-MILE — 1. Dan Hostager (N. Iowa) 9:10.94; 2. Tom Penningroth (N. Iowa) 9:19.64; 3. Trent Timson (N. Iowa) 9:26.43; 4. Tim Ryan (W.III) 9:27.91; 5. Kevin Rine (W.III) 9:28.78.

LONG JUMP — 1. DuBois McDavis (W.III) 24-5¾; 2. Wayne Simon (N.Iowa) 23-4; 3. Darrin Barber (E.III) 22-2¾; 4. Reggie Young (SW Missouri) 22-10; 5. Rod Ferguson (E.III) 22-9¼.

SHOTPUT — 1. M. Matas (W.III) 59-4\/\(^4\) (new conference record); 2. D. Matas (E.III) 54-8\/\(^4\); 3. Jeff Gennarelli (E.III) 53-10\/\(^5\); 4. Mike Morrison (W.III) 52-4\/\(^4\); 5. Tagtow (N.Iowa) 50-2\/\(^4\);

MILE - 1. J. Maton (E.III) 4:06.9 (new conference

record); 2. P. Maton (E.III) 4:11.8; 3. Matt Wegenka (SW Missouri) 4:13.0; 4. Steve Gearhart (N.Iowa) 4:14.6; 5.

Robert Matthews (W.III) 4:20.9. 60 HIGHS — 1. Oliver Porter (Clev. St.): 07.39; 2. Willie Clark (N.Iowa): 07.50; 3. Eric White (N.Iowa): 07.54; 4. Derrick Golden (W.III): 07.55; 5. Darrin Barber (E.III)

60 — 1. McDavis (W.III): 06.37; 2. Chris Chatman (W.III): 06.43; 3. Eric Childs (E.III): 06.45; 4. Ferguson (E.III): 06.48; 5. Joe Fuller (N.Iowa): 06.53.

440 — 1. Ian Isaacs (E.III) :48.72 (new conference record); 2. Brooks Glasnapp (N.Iowa) :48.84; 3. Darnell Thompson (E.III) :49.17; 4. Golden (W.III) :50.70; 5. Frank Stacy (W.III) :51.39.

TRIPLE JUMP — 1, McDavis (W.III) 49-0¼ (new conference record); 2. Derrick Lee (E.III) 47-0½; 3. Barber (E.III) 46-0; 4. Simon (N.Iowa) 45-8¾; 5. Golden (W.III) 43-5¼.

600 — 1. Fred Neal (E.III) 1:10.56 (new conference record); 2. Brad Bartelt (N.Iowa) 1:10.79; 3. Willie Grier (W.III) 1:12.31; 4. Joel Hartman (N.Iowa) 1:13.20; 5. Vinram Wadedev (E.III) 1:13.92.

880 — 1. Jeff Burris (N. Jowa) 1:52.02 (new conference record); 2. Tim Ross (N. Jowa) 1:55.29; 3. Oaks (E.III) 1:53.79; 4. Steve Conlon (E.III) 1:56.19; 5. Mark Anthony (W.III) 1:56.88.

1,000 — 1. J. Maton (E.III) 2:11.16 (new conference record); 2. P. Maton (E.III) 2:12.35; 3. Steve Jay (N. Jowa) 2:12.40; 4. Wegenka (SW Missouri) 2:13.37; 5. Branton White (SW Missouri) 2:14.79.

HIGH JUMP — 1. Curt Brand (SW Missouri) 6-9%; 2. Brent Wright (N.Jowa) 6-9; 3. Mike Hamman (E.III) 6-8%; 4. Dave Cleveland (N.Jowa) 6-8%; 5. Pete Hayes (N.Jowa) 6-8%; 6. Pete Hayes (N.Jowa) 6-8%; 7. Pete Hayes (N.Jowa) 6-8%; 7. Pete Hayes (N.Jowa) 6-8%; 7. Pete Hayes (N.Jowa) 6-9%; 7. Pete Hayes (N.Jowa)

MILE RELAY — 1. Northern Iowa (Bartelt, Jim Turner, Burris, Glasnapp) 3:16:12 (new conference record); 2. Eastern Illinois 3:17.57; 3. Western Illinois 3:20.41; 4. SW Missouri State 3:34:84.